My favourite alternative miniature sites

Forums are quite often bogged down somewhat with requests for different miniatures, especially for Imperial Guardsmen, so I’ve decided to compile a list of my favourite sites. This list doesn’t aim to include every single little webstore for alternative miniatures for Warhammer, but rather my favourite ones, based on the following criteria:

  • Compatibility
  • Quality

I’ve decided to not really include price, as that’ll be very subjective. Hell, I buy ForgeWorld.

First off, Mad Robot Miniatures. They do modular commissars, squads, you name it. I’m currently planning on using them for creating Cultists and Lost and the Damned for my Alpha Legion. Additionally, I’m gonna use their modular commissar for my Arkhan Confederates.

Secondly, for the resinsexuals out there, Victoria Miniatures is the creation of the Slayer Sword-winning Victoria Lamb. They have excellent, high quality resin models, especially the later ones. I’m using them for my Arkhan Confederates as well, with their heavy weapon teams being indispensable for creating an ACW feel. They also have the easiest way for creating Rough Riders, which I’ll be using for my Arkhan Confederates!

Victoria Lamb’s Slayer Sword-winning diorama, famous for its early use of Object Source Lighting (OSL)

Third, but not least, is Kromlech. I’m mainly using them for their Confederate heads, but if I played Orks, these guys would be getting large parts of my paycheck. They do some Imperial Guard equivalents, but I feel both the aforementioned stores do them better. They also have some nice female Inquisitors worth checking out. They also have Evil Craft, who make fantastic CSMs for Sorcerers, Havocs, and Chosen, especially if you want a more daemonic Word Bearer-look. How they got around GW’s IP I have no idea.

6 thoughts on “My favourite alternative miniature sites

  1. Kromlech has some amazing sculpts. Takes a bit to get some of their stuff (they also have 15-20% off sales now and again), but boy are they worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

