Quick thoughts on Warhammer; Age of Sigmar

After seeing two photos of the new miniatures for Age of Sigmar, dubbed #AgeOfCygnar on Twitter due to their aesthetics, I feel I’m 100% capable of giving a review of the entire range of new miniatures.

image

image

On a serious note, I think the warmongers Twitterati are correct; the aesthetics are very similar to WarmaHordes. I thought the Kastelans for #wh40k AdMech looked like a cross between Big Daddy from BioShock and Cygnar. I’m not a huge fan of the WarmaHordes aesthetic (too steam punk for me), but at least it’s not the Space Wolves’ flyer which looks like a certain car from Dumb & Dumber.

image

However, they did not have the Warhammer feel to them at all. Warhammer was grim and brutal, with a bit of tongue-in-cheek hilarity thrown in. These new miniatures, while in no way bad, doesn’t encapsulate that feeling. They look more Diablo 3 than Altdorf, more Cygnar than Ulthuan.

However, I think they might make good miniatures for wh40k; the humans look like Blood Angels conversions waiting to happen, and the Chaos guys look like they’d make good Cultists, Chaos Space Marines, and Renegade Guard.

I don’t mind the round bases though, as hopefully that signals the return of a much needed Warhammer Fantasy skirmish game.

All on all, I don’t mind the miniatures, but it doesn’t look like Warhammer.

Edit – I believe it was Fred Boogaerts who came up with the Age of Cygnar idea, and here’s Vidpui’s photoshopped picture

One thought on “Quick thoughts on Warhammer; Age of Sigmar

Leave a Reply

